Fuel Task Force members announced – Fishupdate.com

Fuel Task Force members announced Published:  23 May, 2008

Richard Lochhead

THE membership of the Fuel Task Force, set up to look urgently at what more can be done to help Scottish fishermen cope with fuel price increases, was announced today by Fisheries Secretary Richard Lochhead.

The Task Force will be chaired by James Brown, Vice President of the Scottish Fishermen’s Federation, and includes representatives from the fishing industry as well as important associated sectors such as haulage and sales.

Mr Lochhead said: “The fishing industry supports thousands of people and communities throughout Scotland. In the face of the huge challenge of rising fuel prices we need to do all we can to sustain the renewed confidence that has developed in the industry over the last year.

“The Task Force was an integral part of the five-point action plan which I announced recently to help the industry deal with high fuel costs. It will look at what can be done by all levels of government, industry and other associated sectors to reduce fuel and non-fuel costs and improve fuel efficiency.

“I want to see ideas brought forward very soon and I am grateful to those who have agreed to be on the Task Force for enabling us to get things up and running so quickly.

“Scotland expects the full support of the UK Government and Europe in taking forward the recommendations which come forward.

“The work of the Task Force, together with the £700,000 I made available immediately for non-fuel costs, will help the industry cope and identify what needs to be done in the short and medium term to give the sector a profitable and sustainable future. In the meantime I will continue to make the industry’s case with the UK Government, which has the ability to reduce fuel costs, and in Europe.”

The Task Force is due to hold its first meeting on May 30.

The membership of the Task Force is:

James Brown (Chair) Caley Fisheries, Vice President Scottish Fishermen’s Federation; Euan Beaton, MacDuff Shellfish; Jim Cook, D R Collin and Son; Derek Duthie, Scottish Pelagic Fishermen’s Association; John Hermse, Mallaig and North West Fishermen’s Association; Billy Hughes,Fife Fishermen’s Association; Brian Isbister Shetland Fish Producers Organisation; Mike Park,Scottish White Fish Producers Association; Tony Usher, Highland Council; John Wallace, Peterhead Port Authority; Paul Williams, Seafish; Sir Ian Wood,The Wood Group.

www.fishupdate.com is published by Special Publications. Special Publications also publish FISHupdate magazine, Fish Farmer, the Fish Industry Yearbook, the Scottish Seafood Processors Federation Diary, the Fish Farmer Handbook and a range of wallplanners.