New categories for the Marine Innovation Awards 2024

Seawork, Southampton

To celebrate the 25th edition of the marine trade event Seawork, new categories have been introduced for the European Commercial Marine Innovation Awards (ECMAs).

The awards will be announced at an evening event on the opening day of Seawork, Tuesday 11 June 2024. They are designed to showcase the extensive progress made in design and technology advancements in the commercial marine industry.

The new Innovation Awards categories reflect the shifts in industry focus, towards decarbonisation, sustainability, automation, alternative energy and propulsion.

Judged by a panel of industry experts, chaired by the editor of Maritime Journal, the ECMAs are presented at the awards evening This international competition offers recognition for excellence in innovation in the industry.

The 2024 categories are:

Innovation Awards

  • Vessel Design & Construction
  • Marine Power & Propulsion
  • Electronic & Electrical Systems – NEW
  • Safety & Training
  • Navigation & Communication – NEW
  • Underwater Intervention (Diving & Underwater Technology)
  • Autonomy – NEW
  • Marine Equipment & Materials
  • Environmental / Renewable Energy – NEW
  • Deck equipment – NEW

People & Project Awards

  • Marine Civils Best Project
  • Maritime Sustainability
  • Young Person’s Development
  • Maritime Professional of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement

All entries for the Innovation Awards are displayed on the Innovations Showcase in a prominent location at Seawork and are presented on the website prior to the event and for several months post event. This provides valuable exposure for businesses ensuring that their innovations are fast-tracked to the forefront of the marine industry.

The high level of innovation and cutting-edge technology is a must-see for all visitors and exhibitors at Seawork, each entry will be seen by a wide audience of over 7,200 marine professionals.

Each category winner receives an ECMA Innovation Award and Certificate of Commendation, with the overall winner presented with the coveted “Spirit of Innovation” trophy at the ECMA ceremony.

There are just two rules to qualify an entry:

  • The equipment, service, project or vessel (entry) must have been released to market in the period since the last Seawork (13th-15th June 2023).
  • The entry must be innovative (not simply a product enhancement)

The organisers said: “If you have an entry that fits both of the above criteria and want to showcase it to key industry professionals, then make sure you enter the Innovation Awards.”

Winner of an Innovation Award in the Power & Propulsion category, ePropulsion took full advantage of the increased attention and promotion that the new I-Series inboard motor received following their victory.

Steve Bruce, Managing Director, ePropulsion, explained: “As first-time exhibitors, we are delighted with the level and range of new contacts made and interesting opportunities discussed. Winning the innovation award for our new I-series inboard solution was the icing on the cake and we look forward to returning next year with our latest innovative solutions. Our sincere thanks go to all of the Seawork team for putting on a world class event!”

The judging panel for 2024 will be announced in due course.

Entries can be made online:  and the deadline for entries is Friday 24 May 2024.

For more information on the ECMAs, please contact: or +44 (0)1329 825335

The landmark 25th anniversary edition of Seawork takes place 11-13 June 2024 with Speed@Seawork Monday 10 June 2024 in Southampton, UK.


Keep up with us

Posted in ,
Fish Farmer cover July 2024

The July 2024 issue of Fish Farmer is out now