Aquaculture Awards attract more entries than ever

Aquaculture UK 2022 - awards dinner

The Aquaculture Awards 2024 have attracted a record number of entries, up more than 20% on last year’s event. The shortlist has been published today.

The awards, to be presented on May 15 at a gala dinner during the Aquaculture UK trade show and conference in Aviemore, include 13 separate categories covering everything from innovation to community initiative, sustainability to animal welfare, and the best of the suppliers and new start-ups.

With almost 100 nominations reflecting the wide range of talent across the sector, the organisers Diversified Communications said, the judges had a particularly difficult task selecting winners this year.

The Aquaculture Awards recognise both hands-on diligence and high-tech brilliance, honouring those individuals and businesses whose endeavours set them apart from their peers.

The shortlist in full is as follows:

Rising Star

  • Rachel Brown, Aqua Pharma Group
  • David Lipcsey, Scottish Sea Farms
  • Calum Scott, Bakkafrost Scotland
  • Silvia Viale, Mowi Scotland


  • Ace Aquatec and Tiny Fish
  • Nofir and Aquafil, Grieg Seafood, Akva Group and Hampidjan
  • Ridgeway Biologicals and Mowi Scotland
  • RS Aqua and Innovasea, Scottish Sea Farms and UKRI


  • Ace Aquatec, A-BIOMASS®
  • Bluegreen, Marine Donut
  • Otanics Technology JSC, Tomota
  • OTAQ Group Ltd, LPAS (Live Plankton Analysis System)
  • Tritonia Scientific Ltd, Generate 3D Digital Twins of the Seabed
  • WellFish Tech, Clinical Blood Biochemistry of Salmonids


  • Anpario, Natural Feed Ingredients
  • Odyssey Innovation Ltd, Net Regeneration Scheme
  • Rare Earth Global, Hemp Feed as a Sustainable Alternative
  • W & J Knox, Sapphire Seal Pro and Net Recycling Scheme

Community Initiative

  • Cooke Aquaculture Scotland
  • Mowi Scotland
  • Northern Light Consulting
  • Organic Sea Harvest & Cargill

Farmer of The Year

  • Thomas Begg, Bakkafrost Scotland
  • Dennis Johnson, Cooke Aquaculture Scotland
  • Alexander MacKinnon, Mowi
  • Robert Peterson, Cooke Aquaculture Scotland
  • Stewart Rendall, Cooke Aquaculture Scotland

Animal Welfare

  • Bakkafrost Scotland, Welfare Awareness
  • BiOcéanOr, 48hr Dissolved Oxygen Forecasting Tool
  • PHARMAQ, PHARMAQ Analytiq and PHARMAQ Fishteq

Aquaculture Supplier of the Year

  • Inverlussa Marine Services
  • RS Aqua
  • Xelect Ltd


Best New Start Up

  • Chucaotec
  • MiAlgae Ltd
  • Ocean Farm Services Ltd

Unsung Hero

  • Dr Ralph Bickerdike, Scottish Sea Farms
  • John Holmyard, Offshore Shellfish
  • Emma Matheson, BioMar Ltd
  • Graham Milroy, Kames Fish Farming

Best Producer of the Year

(Winner to be announced on the night)

Judge’s Special Recognition

(Winner to be announced on the night)

Outstanding Contribution – As voted for by the industry

  • Gilpin Bradley, Wester Ross Fisheries
  • Stephen Cameron, Scottish Shellfish
  • Prof Ian Johnston, Xelect
  • Paul Macintyre, Lloyd’s Register

All those in the industry are invited to vote for the winner of this prestigious award. The organisers said: “The shortlisted individuals above have each made extraordinary contributions through their work, and all are deserving of votes.”

The winner will be chosen by the industry and announced on the night. Voting will open soon via the awards website.

This year, the aquaculture community can get involved in the judging process by voting for the winner of the Outstanding Contribution award, chosen from four shortlisted candidates, each of whom has carved out a distinguished career in their field.

Cheri Arvonio, Awards Director, said: ‘The Aquaculture Awards champion the achievements of the sector over the past year and highlight the exceptional people making a difference, whether at home or abroad.

‘We’re thrilled with the level of engagement this year and look forward to welcoming all those in the running, our award sponsors and some 600 guests for a night of celebration, socialising and Highland fun.’

The awards night, will be hosted by Fred MacAulay.

The Aquaculture Awards event takes place on May 15 at the Macdonald Resort in Aviemore, venue for Aquaculture UK, which runs from May 14-15. To find out more or for tickets to the Aquaculture Awards, contact Aquaculture UK organiser Diversified Communications via

For further details visit online.

MacDonald Aviemore Resort



Keep up with us

Fish Farmer April 2024 cover

The April 2024 issue of Fish Farmer magazine is out now online