Quotas cut for 10 EU countries

THE fishing quotas for ten EU member states has been cut by the European Commission in a move to compensate for overfishing in 2013.
The countries affected by the cuts are: Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and the UK.
The reductions affect 45 fish stocks, the same stocks that were overfished last year. Further reductions have been made for consecutive overfishing, overfishing above five per cent, or if a multiannual plan applies to the stock.
Commenting on the measures, EU Commissioner for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, Maria Damanaki, said: ‘If we want to be serious in our fight against over-fishing, we need to apply our rules by the book — and this includes the respect of quotas’.
The reductions are down 22 per cent compared to last year. ‘I’m glad to see that we did a better job in 2013 than in previous years when it comes to staying within quotas,’ Damanaki added.
‘That said, to achieve healthy fish stocks across Europe we also need efficient controls to enforce the rules in place.’
Any member state without a fishing quota to pay back its overfishing will have the quantity deducted from an alternative species in the same area.