New Seafish Board Appointment –

New Seafish Board Appointment European Fish Trader Published:  14 June, 2003

THE Fisheries Ministers in the UK have appointed a new member to the

Sea Fish Industry Authority (SFIA) Board.

Mr Norman Shaw has been appointed as an independent member.

This appointment follows the recent appointment of Chris Venmore and

Gordon Maddan as industry members, and the reappointment of John

Goodlad, Alex Smith, Nigel Atkins, Iain MacSween, Jeff Evans, and

Elizabeth McAreavey as industry members, and Dr Stephen Lockwood as

an independent member.

Mr Shaw is a dairy farmer from Co Down and a former President

of the Ulster Farmers Union. He is a former Chair of the Oxford

Farming Conference, and a recent Chair of the Farmers Club, London.

He has served on several public bodies, including the BBC

Broadcasting Council for Northern Ireland, the Green Park Healthcare

Trust Belfast, and the Northern Ireland Board of the Bank of Ireland.